Kavita Verryth Says, “I really believe that understanding your body shape is an amazing step to accepting yourself in a positive light. Once you understand your body and what it takes to make it feel amazing it’s possible to take steps to gain control of your self-esteem.”

Kavita Verryth was born in Perth, Western Australia and moved to Melbourne when she was 16 years old. Her father is Dutch and her mother is Malaysian. She has a younger brother, Mark, who is a professional tennis player–they travel together whenever possible and are very thankful for Skype. Kavita is a massive fan of playing and watching sport. Any and every sport.

She lived and studied in Utrecht, The Netherlands for a year, which she says was a great opportunity to meet her Dutch family, explore Europe, and learn how to cook! Kavita 100% has the travel-bug and can’t sit still for too long. She would love to work overseas once she’s finished her degrees. She hopes to become a Player Agent (think Jerry Maguire) in the future.

Please tell us how you began your career as a model.  

When in Sydney for a university internship, I came across auditions for Australia’s Next Top Model. My mum encouraged me to go along, so off I went – with no experience or ability to walk in a pair of heels! The judges were really excited and positive and I made it through a couple of audition rounds. I was inspired to do a little more research into plus-sized modeling agencies. I came across BGM Models, sent in some natural photos and heard back from Darrianne Donnelley almost immediately. They were really excited (as was I) and the rest is now history….

What does being a ‘plus’ model mean to you?  

I don’t consider myself to be a ‘plus’ model even though it is the current popular term for being a natural woman. I believe I have been given the opportunity to educate not only those around me, but the wider community in Australia that ‘plus’ models are regular models who live a healthy and well-balanced life.

Your first shoot was for the launch for Moda at Target.  Please tell us about preparing for the shoot, how you were feeling, and the overall experience!  

The shoot for Moda at Target came about very soon after I signed with BGM. I really wasn’t expecting to book such a large job so quickly, but I was obviously very excited. Preparing for the shoot certainly included plenty of primping and priming and my nerves certainly kicked in but the crews working at the studios were fantastic, gave me plenty of direction and positive feedback. BGM Models also sent Kate Hislop, a fellow model to give me guidance and tips, which definitely came in handy!

Have you ever struggled with low self-esteem or body image issues?  

I never had particular problems with low self-esteem – well no more than any other teenage girl does when growing up. I was very athletic so my body shape was definitely a benefit for the sports I competed in. I had managed to turn any body image issues into a benefit for other aspects of my life. I think there will always be things, which can be improved upon, but I find that regular exercise, a balanced diet, and plenty of water keeps me feeling fresh and confident.

What advice do you have to girls and women who are currently struggling?  

I really believe that understanding your body shape is an amazing step to accepting yourself in a positive light. Once you understand your body and what it takes to make it feel amazing it’s possible to take steps to gain control of your self-esteem.

What are some of your favorite beauty products or must-haves?  

I’ve just become addicted to Organic hair products. I’ve been using Matrix Biolage and my hair has absolutely loves it! I am also completely obsessed with Lucas PawPaw Ointment, which is an Australian tradition – all my girlfriends carry a tube or two in their handbags. Its fantastic for dry lips, cuts, burns, and as a last minute moisturizer. I also can’t go past MAC Fluidline, which is a gel eyeliner that defines my eyes for day and night and can be used as a shade for a smoky-eyes look.

Where do you like to shop for clothes?  

I love shopping at David Jones department stores. They carry all my favorite local and international labels including Carla Zampatti, Witchery, Diane von Furstenberg, Lisa Ho, and Thurley. I’m also a massive UnderArmour fan for workout gear and clothes to lounge around the house in and am in love with Dinosaur Designs jewelry. Their pieces are handmade and they have the most beautiful range of colors – it always takes too long to decide on a piece when I’m there!

What is your go-to outfit?  

I am happiest in pair of jeans with a crisp t-shirt and finished with a blazer. Ballet flats for the day work best and a cute pair of heels and statement piece of jewelry at night.

What are you currently reading?  

Textbooks, unfortunately. I’m in fifth year at Deakin University studying a Bachelor or Laws and a Bachelor of Commerce (Sports Management) so most of my free time is spent catching up on missed readings and classes. Oops!

Do you have a favorite workout routine?  

I have a weekly exercise routine where I participate in-group workout sessions at my local park. I love exercising outdoors and the workouts alternate between being Cardio based or a Toning session. I think a mix of both forms of exercise is really important in keeping my body balanced and healthy. We’re really luck in Australia that the weather is conducive to exercising outside – the fresh air does wonders for lifting my mood.

In 10 years, where would you love to see yourself?  

As I have only just started modeling, I’d really love to keep it up for the next few years. I would like to do editorial shoots for Australian fashion magazines and eventually would like travel and model out of New York, Germany or Italy. It’s also important for me to finish my University degree, as I believe education keeps my options open and allows me more freedom in the future to pursue a modeling career.

For those of us who haven’t been to Australia, what do you love about your country?  

There is absolutely no country like Australia. We are so isolated from the rest of the world and our land is so vast that there is the opportunity to live any kind of life you dream of. We have open spaces, gorgeous beaches, and an amazing countryside for those that are after serenity, but for those who prefer a fast paced lifestyle, our cities certainly provide this. Melbourne is without a doubt my favorite – the culture, atmosphere, and hype, which surrounds it, really keeps me busy and interested.

What is a fun fact about you?

There are a few quirks to me…..

I have to fold every piece of plastic or paper into neat squares or triangles before I throw them in the trash. I need to have the clothes in my wardrobe and my collection of nail polish arranged by colours from lightest to darkest. I roll my clothes before placing them in my suitcase when traveling. When I eat skittles I have to separate the colours and count how many there are of each, making sure when I eat them that the number of each colour remains equal.

Do you have any quick make-up tips to share with us?

At the moment, I am really into eyebrows. When I’m in a hurry I will always make sure I lightly pencil them. I find it brightens my face and keeps me looking fresh all day long.

What are you most proud of?

I’m really proud of having the guts and want to participate in the plus size modelling industry. It takes a lot of self-confidence and I’m so happy that I have the personality and will to want to do this and to show other young girls that being a ‘plus’ model doesn’t mean you are unhealthy or not appreciated. There is a strong group of ladies doing this and as time goes by, the support provided to this industry can only flourish.

Who is your role model or hero? Why?

My mum has been the single strongest influence in my life. She is strong-willed, determined to succeed, and has always put her family first. She’s pushed me when I needed it and supported me in everything that I’ve wanted to do with minimal questions. Having support from her and my family is the most important thing to me when making a decision.

Who do you have on speed dial?

My parents just moved from Melbourne to the Gold Coast in QLD so I’ve had my mum on speed dial ever since. She knows what I’m doing most of the time and with my family being so spread apart (my one brother lives in Florida), speaking to family on the phone or via skype is a regular occurrence.

What is your most treasured possession?

I’m ashamed to say it’s my blackberry at the moment. Being so busy all the time means that my life sits in that piece of technology. It’s my event reminder, assignment tracker and link to my family, friends, and boyfriend. I would require a serious life overhaul if I didn’t have it.

What music is on at home?

I’m easy when it comes to music. When I’m with the girls getting ready for a night out, it’s just some light house music, in the gym it’s a lot more upbeat, and in the evening I like jazz with a French or Spanish influence.

Guilty pleasure?

Igloo Zoo. It’s an Australian frozen yoghurt store. I love Pomegranate yoghurt with crumble, mixed berry puree, and lychees. YUMM!

What is your go-to statement accessory?

A gorgeous necklace my girlfriend picked up whilst we were travelling through the US. I borrowed it from her one evening and it hasn’t found its way back yet. Oops! It’s a large, two-tiered cream necklace. I love wearing it with all the black I have to make the outfit pop!

What are you excited about?

I’ve just begun my 6th and final year of university which is a huge relief! I’m really excited about the adventure that will unfold at the end of my degree as I currently have no idea of the path I’d like to take. Keeping my options open is important and that means balancing plus modeling with a potential career in the Sports Marketing industry. Whether I do this here in Melbourne, up in Sydney or look overseas to Europe and the US is an intensely exciting prospect for me.

Who is your style icon and why?

I can’t say I follow a particular person. I love browsing through fashion magazines and trying to implement particular aspects of trends. I’m definitely not someone who sticks to a particular style although generally I have relatively simple, classic taste and enjoying sticking to at least one black item.

Celebrity crush?

I love sportsmen. Nadal, Lopez, Torres, Jensen Button…the list could go on and on.

What is one of your most favorite childhood memories?

My brother and I played tennis tournaments as kids (my brother, Mark, is now a professional tennis player) and we entered an Under 12s mixed doubles competition for the first time. I remember fighting with him all the way through the tournament but eventually we took the trophies and all our arguments were forgotten. We definitely weren’t too kind to each other on the tennis court back then but now I’ve learnt my lesson and avoid even stepping onto court with him as losing to him would be the only option these days 🙂

*Thank you, Kavita!

One Response to “Kavita Verryth Says, “I really believe that understanding your body shape is an amazing step to accepting yourself in a positive light. Once you understand your body and what it takes to make it feel amazing it’s possible to take steps to gain control of your self-esteem.””

  1. how do i become a plus size model?

Leave a Reply

