Aglaë Dreyer Shares Modeling, Body Image, Self-Esteem & Curly Hair Advice

Photographed by Sasha Pfeffer

Aglaë Dreyer was born in Brussels, Belgium. She has lived in Paris, Vienna, Costa Rica, and is currently living back in Brussels, studying communications. She is also a part-time plus-size model. Aglaë started modeling when she was seventeen as a straight-size model, but her body wasn’t made for “it”. About a year and a half ago she started plus-size modeling, and she loves it! She is signed with a couple of agencies in Europe, but her mother agency is Dominique Models in Brussels.

Photographed by Barbara Anastacio

How did you get started in the modeling industry?

I started when I was seventeen as a straight-size model. They scouted me while I was sitting with my sister at a café in Brussels.

What advice do you have for aspiring models?

My advice would be to always stay confident, modest, and open to positive critics that will help you evolve, but to never let yourself be influenced and never compare yourself to other models. If it doesn’t work out or if you don’t get a job, don’t take it personally — never take it personally. It’s just a job.

Photographed by Sasha Pfeffer

What advice would you give to girls and women, who are struggling with body image and self-esteem issues?

I think everyone is or has struggled with body image and self-esteem issues. I still do. I think you have to try to accept your body how it is. You can’t change it so you might as well try to love it and make the most out of it. I think we have to try to focus on our qualities. Always listen to compliments, be attentive to random smiles and looks around you, and when you feel down remember them. Always keep in mind that you are your own hardest critic. And, that the way you see yourself is never the way people see you.

What does being healthy mean to you?

Being healthy is eating without excess, never feeling guilty of eating this or that, always take time to enjoy what you are eating, being physically active, and feeling comfortable with yourself.

Photographed by Barbara Anastacio

What is your beauty must have?

My beauty must have…. I don’t know. I am not really good at makeup and everything. I am a bit lazy for that. Well, I always have some lip balm with me and I try to put on a daily cream every day. I always put on a little bit of perfume before leaving, but I don’t have a special product I always use…well, at least not for the time being.

Where do you shop for clothes?

Hmm… Zara, H&M, Mango, Urban Outfitters, Kookai, and Vintage Shops for bags and shoes.

Who do you consider a role model or hero?

Both of my parents.

Photographed by Barbara Anastacio

How do you think plus modeling is helping redefine beauty?

It’s helping get rid of the ridiculous cliché that skinny = beautiful and that beautiful = skinny!

Do you have any special beauty products you use for your curly hair?

I just buy L’Oreal for dry hair and conditioner that helps detangle my hair. I sometimes do a mask. I wash two-three times a week, only brush it when it’s wet, and that’s it. But, makeup artists always have the best products. Have to invest in those!

What are you excited about right now?

I am excited about the plus modeling opportunity that has just opened up to me. It s great, I love it!

Photographed by Barbara Anastacio

*Thank you, Aglaë!

** Do you have any special beauty products that you use for curly or frizzy hair? How do you define beauty? What does being healthy mean to you?

12 Responses to “Aglaë Dreyer Shares Modeling, Body Image, Self-Esteem & Curly Hair Advice”

  1. My coder is trying to convince me to move to .net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the costs. But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type on a variety of websites for about a year and am nervous about switching to another platform. I have heard fantastic things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can transfer all my wordpress posts into it? Any help would be really appreciated!

  2. wickes.co.uk Code

    Aglaë Dreyer Shares Modeling, Body Image, Self-Esteem & Curly Hair Advice | Plus-Size Models Unite

  3. furniture

    Aglaë Dreyer Shares Modeling, Body Image, Self-Esteem & Curly Hair Advice | Plus-Size Models Unite

  4. Right here is the perfect web site for everyone who
    hopes to find out about this topic. You know a whole lot its
    almost tough to argue with you (not that I personally would want to…HaHa).
    You certainly put a new spin on a topic that’s been written about for decades.

    Wonderful stuff, just wonderful!

  5. visit my website

    Aglaë Dreyer Shares Modeling, Body Image, Self-Esteem & Curly Hair Advice | Plus-Size Models Unite

  6. gobblin.se

    Aglaë Dreyer Shares Modeling, Body Image, Self-Esteem & Curly Hair Advice | Plus-Size Models Unite

  7. A+ would read again

  8. […] Aglaë Dreyer Shares Modeling, Body Image, Self-Esteem & Curly Hair … […]

  9. […] Aglaë Dreyer Shares Modeling, Body Image, Self-Esteem & Curly Hair Advice « Plus-Size Mod… […]

  10. She is beautiful! meant to be a model. she is so photogenic!

  11. Lovely model. I agree with Monique. Keep up the great writing. x

  12. I love this blog! And I love this model! She is gorgeous!!

Leave a Reply

