Skinny vs. Full-Figured by Elizabeth Nord

 

Elizabeth Nord & Angela Jones in Kona, Hawaii.

Skinny vs. Full Figured

We all have our own unique definition of the above-mentioned words. Those definitions can vary widely for each individual woman. There are women of every size, shape, age, and ethnic mix in this world. They are all beautiful in their own unique way. For Angela & I, the issue isn’t skinny vs. full-figured. It’s about embracing diversity and being healthy.

I am a size two and Angela is a size twelve. We have very different body types, but we are both active, strong, and healthy women. I am bothered by the notion that you have to be a specific size to be healthy. I agree that obesity and eating disorders are serious problems that need to be addressed and that they cause long-term health issues. I also believe that every woman has her own ideal healthy weight. What I’m saying is that just because I’m 5’4” and a healthy size 2, doesn’t mean that another 5’4” woman’s healthy weight or size is the same as mine or that all women who are Angela’s height should be a size 12. All women have different bone structures, our weight is distributed differently, and we have different genetic factors that play a role in the way our body develops.

Girls and women compare themselves to other females all the time. I’ve done it and it’s no fun. It does nothing positive for your morale and doesn’t change the body shape you are really meant to have. It’s okay to be healthy skinny, healthy full-figured, or any place in between. One way is not better that the other. The important thing is to be healthy.

Angela and I both feel that we’ve finally come to a place in our lives where we love our bodies as they are. This summer is the first summer I actually could care less that I’m flat chested, and I feel completely comfortable in a bikini. It’s just the way I was built. It’s liberating to embrace yourself for who you are, and I wish I had done so sooner.

To me, being healthy isn’t a size or weight. Being healthy is about taking care of your body, exercising, feeling centered, eating healthy, laughing, having fun, learning, living, loving, and divulging in whatever your cravings are in moderation. I truly believe you can be many different places on the size or weight chart to achieve health and happiness.

*What do you think? Have you struggled to accept your body? Have you found a way to embrace your body as it is? If so, how and was there a specific “aha moment” that led you to embracing yourself as you are? What’s your secret to health and happiness?

21 Responses to “Skinny vs. Full-Figured by Elizabeth Nord”

  1. Hmm it appears like your blog ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I
    had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still
    new to the whole thing. Do you have any suggestions for first-time blog writers?
    I’d genuinely appreciate it.

  2. If you want to improve your experience only keep visiting this website and be updated with the newest news posted here.

  3. wonderful insight. Really enjoyed reading this blog. Keep up the good
    work and to everyone keep on learning!

  4. After looking into a few of the articles on your
    website, I honestly like your technique of
    writing a blog. I book marked it to my bookmark website list and
    will be checking back in the near future. Please visit my website as well and let me
    know what you think.

  5. This design is steller! You definitely know how to keep
    a reader entertained. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well,
    almost…HaHa!) Wonderful job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented
    it. Too cool!

  6. all the time i used to read smaller content which also clear
    their motive, and that is also happening with this post which I am reading now.

  7. Wow! This blog looks just like my old one! It’s on a entirely different topic but it has pretty much the same page layout and design. Superb choice of colors!

  8. cheap aeg ovens and hobs

    Skinny vs. Full-Figured by Elizabeth Nord | Plus-Size Models Unite

  9. Having read this I believed it was very enlightening.

    I appreciate you taking the time and effort to put this information together.

    I once again find myself spending way too much time both reading and commenting.
    But so what, it was still worthwhile!

  10. Have you ever considered creating an e-book or guest authoring on
    other websites? I have a blog based upon on the same
    topics you discusds and would really like to have you share ome stories/information.
    I know my subscribers would value your work. If you are
    even remotely interested, feel free to send me
    an email.

  11. It’s really a great and hhelpful piece of info. I’m satisfied that you just shared thijs useful
    info with us. Please stay us informed like this.

    Thanks for sharing.

  12. Greetings from Idaho! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to browse your site on my iphone
    during lunch break. I enjoy the information you
    present here and can’t wait to take a look when I
    get home. I’m shocked at how quick your blog loaded on my phone ..

    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, good site!

  13. Greetings from Carolina! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided
    to check out your blog on my iphone during lunch break.
    I enjoy the knowledge you present here and can’t wait to
    take a look when I get home. I’m shocked at how quick
    your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not
    even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, amazing site!

  14. The reservation will likely be based on the information you’ve
    got provided. ‘and after that the same luminescent, white-faced presence appears
    facing Castianos. The developer diary, which can be found for the left as
    well, discusses the core gameplay of the game to present players a
    better idea of what to expect once the play.

  15. Incredible! This blog looks just like my old one!
    It’s on a totally different topic but it has pretty much the same
    page layout and design. Wonderful choice of colors!

  16. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an very long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show
    up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over
    again. Anyways, just wanted to say fantastic blog!

  17. Hi everyone, I was looking for a good articles about workout and exercises because I’m really sport addict, and every good article about wotkout is welcome. I really enjoyed reading this article… All credits to the author…

  18. Healthy, that’s the key. As I often said, isn’t it absurd that more than three thousand million persons have to have the same size and shape?

  19. great post ! loved reading your blog, real beaty is not a size 0. Embrace your body and your life will be happier for it x

  20. Love this! Yes, being healthy is about all of those things…exercising, eating healthy….and for me, it is also about learning new things and opening my mind to new possibilities and people who are “different” from me. Not getting stuck in a rut, or being close minded and self-centered. I am thankful that these things are also important to my husband and he supports me in my efforts to improve my health by going to Weight Watchers, helping me cook healthy foods for our family and encouraging me to find time to exercise. I am thankful to have him for a partner, and I am thankful to call you two ladies friends because I really look up to both of you. 🙂

  21. For me it’s all about money and time. I don’t have the time, money, or commitment to exercise, buy/eat healthy foods, or buy flattering clothing. I think back to times when I felt healthy and nourished and they were when I made more time to be mindful of taking care of me.

    I read your blog and agree with what you are saying. I am just having a hard time making time, finding peace, and permitting myself to embrace who I am and the body I inhabit.

Leave a Reply

