How To Love Your Body And Embrace Who You Are by Angela Jones

Photographed by Marc Von Borstel

Angela Jones is a wife, stay at home mother of two children, and a “plus size” model. She’s also the co-creator of Plus-Size Models Unite. 

Take time for yourself daily. It’s important to have you-time. It may be drawing a bath, reading a book with your cup of coffee in the morning, going on a walk or run, etc. That time is SO important. Remember who you are as a person. As a mother, we tend to put everyone else first; but I believe that to be the best mother you can be and the best wife, partner, or friend; you need to have you time. My husband and I go dancing or I go line dancing with my friends. Dancing is my outlet and it allows me to just let go and have fun. Find something you enjoy.

Eat healthy and stay active. Your body is the only one you have, so treat it with respect. Nourish your body, eat healthy food, and drink lots of water, but don’t deprive yourself of a cookie or a treat every now and then. Walking, running, zumba, or whatever it is that you enjoy, try to make it fun. Find a group of ladies to run with or use that time by yourself to get your walk in and have some alone time. Find what works best for you. Also, taking care of yourself, eating healthy, and staying active also teaches our kids to do the same.

Embrace who you are. Embrace what you have been given. Instead of focusing on the things that you find negative, ask yourself what do I LOVE about me? What makes me special and unique? Everyone has talents and features that should be appreciated. What are yours? I used to be teased as a child for the mole on my face, my bum, and my weight. Now I am a plus model and I’m not ashamed to say I weigh 175 lbs – I love who I am, my bum and my mole are two of my favorite features! They make me unique and I love that! When you are comfortable with who you are as a woman, it shows.

Set a good example. Being a mother to a 7-year-old daughter and a 4-year-old son, I want to set a good example for them. I don’t want them to see mommy constantly on the scale or in the mirror asking, “Do I look fat?” I want them to remember me as a confident and happy woman. I ask them daily, what do you love about yourself? What is one of your talents? I want my daughter to be confident and I want my son to have confidence and respect women just like his daddy does. So, on the days when I am feeling frumpy, my children are my little reminders of how I need to set a good example for them.

Carry yourself with confidence. Walk with confidence and be proud of not only your body, but also who you are as a person. How you treat others, smiling at someone as they walk by or holding a door open for someone. Little acts of kindness show your confidence. I believe people who are truly happy live a life of balance. When you are happy with the way you live your life, it shows. Be proud of the woman you are.

* Click HERE to join the Plus-Size Models Unite Facebook group!

**A special thank you to Nikki Yazxhi, at bellaMumma, for publishing Angela’s article.

You can visit BellaMUMMA at http://www.bellamumma.com/

4 Responses to “How To Love Your Body And Embrace Who You Are by Angela Jones”

  1. Love this! And I love that you’re into your weight and the things that make you unique. When I’m a mother, I really want my children to see me as confident and happy, too. Those are by far the most important things.

  2. Michelle Says:

    I find that when life is in balance – family, work, exercise, fun, relaxation – it enables one to be positive and also helps with getting through the difficulties that arise unexpectedly. I am proud of my daughter’s quest to provide tools, through this blog, that may be helpful to others to recognize ones own beauty, strengths, and ultimately find balance.

  3. Lindsey Bowen Says:

    Well said Angela. An your photo is amazing!! I think finding me time actually doing something physical is important. Sometimes I find me time by going shopping, even if I don’t buy anything, it’s still fun and relaxing for me. But, I do feel a difference when I get some sort of reflective time, and when your exercising or being active, you connect with your body and end up feeling more refreshed. So, I’m off to go swimming with the kids, Joe and I take turns doing laps in the pool while the kids play. It works out great…and then Ice cream at Big Scoop!!

  4. Veronica Turner Says:

    Love your sprit,You are a remarkable woman. Thankyou.

Leave a Reply

