Laurel Touby, mediabistro.com Creator, Talks About Overcoming Obstacles, Persevering, Success, Body Image, Health, Societal Misconceptions of Women, and Her Goals For the Future

Laurel Touby photographed by Stacy Kranitz

You may be wondering why we interviewed mediabistro.com creator, Laurel Touby for our blog. We will tell you why…Laurel is an inspirational woman!

Laurel wasn’t handed success on a silver spoon. In fact, she has said herself that she felt like an outsider and didn’t have the right pedigree to make it in New York. Her hard work and determination paid off. In 2007, she sold mediabistro.com for $23 million dollars. Mediabistro.com started as a gathering place for professionals in journalism, publishing, and other media-related industries. Laurel’s story is one of finding her passion, working hard, overcoming obstacles, persevering, and succeeding.

Laurel was born in Oahu, Hawaii; grew up in Miami; graduated from Smith College in Economics; and moved to New York City in 1985. She started her career in New York at mega-ad agency Young & Rubicam as a media planner. She went on to Working Woman Magazine as an assistant editor, to BusinessWeek as a staff writer, then to Executive Female magazine as a business editor and to Conde Nast’s Glamour magazine as a columnist. In 1994, she started a series of cocktail parties, which would later evolve into the mediabistro.com web site. But in the beginning, she never dreamed it would become as big as it did.

I interviewed Laurel by phone, and I can tell you that she is intelligent, funny, witty, sassy, kind, open, ambitious, direct, and an insanely successful businesswoman. Oh, sure, she’s more than all that, but those are the first words that come to my mind.

 

Laurel, MSNBC’s Joe Scarborough, and NPR’s David Folkenflik photographed by Isabelle-Mills Tannenbaum
 

I’ve read that you felt like an outsider and that you didn’t have the right pedigree when you first moved to New York, what drove you and continued to drive you to succeed?

New York was a scary place for me when I first arrived here, and not just because it was the 1980’s and quite dangerous. The danger for me was in all the hefty egos walking around. There were a lot of young hot shots, people who had gone to all the right schools, who knew all the right people, who were very literary and they were intimidating! I never felt less intelligent than they were. I just felt that I was starting out with a handicap because I grew up in a cultural wasteland called Miami, Florida. But, I am very competitive and believe that if you try hard enough, then you have the opportunity to succeed. So, I had this crazy idea that I could catch up to them. Complete hubris and ignorance kept me going; it was blithe ignorance.

What keeps you going when you get down?

I believe in what I’m doing. Positive feedback feeds me. But, on the other hand, every bit of negative feedback sets me back. In the beginning, if someone made fun of mediabistro.com in a wry, snobby New York way, it would hurt me for days. People would often say, “You host those parties for ‘desperate freelancers,’” and that wounded me terribly.

How did you deal with people who spoke to you in that manner?

I was defensive and aggressive. But it also pushed me to be more vigilant. I thought, “hmmm, there must be some truth to what they are saying. Why are they getting that impression and how can I change it?” Then, I would just strive to do better. And, I took hope and strength from the positive things people were saying, too. That made me high, that positive energy.

What misconceptions do you think society has of successful women in general?

I believe that women’s personalities are kept in check by the fears and biases of men. Read the book On Lies, Secrets and Silences by Adrienne Rich to understand what I mean. We are scolded not to get angry in the workplace. “You are too scary,” and so we express ourselves in subtle ways. Then we are told we are passive-aggressive or manipulative. But how else can we behave if we cannot be accepted when we are direct?

Jon Fine and Laurel in Cape Town, South Africa, climbing Table Mountain

Who inspires you?

No one in particular. I see everyone as merely human. I used to idolize people who I met who were show-offy smart or obviously successful. I no longer pedestal anyone. However, I am awed by any person, whether a desert nomad, an artist, a banker or even a bank robber, who really lives, and not just talks, her own brand of ethics and beliefs. People who have internal integrity inspire me, so long as they’re not abusive or mass murderers!

You are a busy woman. How do you stay healthy?

Plan out your weeks. Look at your calendar and write in appointments with yourself every day. I don’t care if you don’t like your job, you’re in a bad marriage, or your kids are driving you crazy; every day, you need one hour with your mind and body. I joined Weight Watchers. I love it. If you follow it, it works!

Obviously, you’ve been an extremely successful businesswoman. What traits do you think are most important to being successful?

Persistence, holding yourself to high standards, benchmarking what you do against others, not being afraid to do something similar to what others are doing only with a twist, constantly striving to be better, being flexible, inquisitive, and taking advantage of opportunities as they arise.

Out of all the places you traveled while on sabbatical – where is the most memorable and why?

Africa was pretty exciting. There are so many opportunities there for the people to lead happy and fulfilled lives. They just need to get the education and training to self-govern. The people who are in power seem to be repeating the same mistakes over and over again. There is a system of tribal patronage that creates favoritism and prevents government from serving the people. I hope they figure things out before all the animals and nature are destroyed.

In Rwanda tracking gorillas

What do you like to do in your down time?

I’m actually stressing over why I am allowing myself so much down time. No seriously, I’m spending a lot of time on what I call “social candy,” having meetings, meetings, meetings, and talking, talking, talking. I’m a person of action, so I’m not sure where all these meetings are going. But, I guess I will figure it out sooner or later.

What is the single best luxury you have? What would be the last luxury you would give up? (I gave Laurel examples such as record or art collection, valet parking, travel, etc.)

My health. I would pay anything to maintain it. I could give up taxis, going out, and travel. I could always travel in my mind by reading books. I take that back. I may not be able to give up my new loft apartment! My husband and I bought it a year ago and have not even moved in yet because we’re doing a gut renovation. Another luxury is not having to work every single day of the week. I work 2 days a week at mediabistro.com now. Prior to this, I worked every day for 26 years. I have freedom, space, and breathing room now. That is an incredible luxury.

Have you ever struggled with self-esteem or body image issues in the past? If so, how did you reach the point of accepting and loving yourself the way you are?

Or course I have felt inadequate. Like any other New York woman, I see the naturally tall and slender 19-year-old models walking around. And there are fresh crops of them arriving every day! It was really sobering when I first came here because I was accustomed to being considered attractive and suddenly I was completely invisible. Since then, I have learned that every woman in New York who is over thirty feels it. The invisibility. On top of that, your metabolism slows by one percent a year and it’s harder to stay in shape. So, my attitude is don’t sweat what you can’t change and work harder at what you can. There is a lot you can control. But it’s important to recognize the things you cannot control and try not to be too hard on yourself over those.

Readers want to know where you shop for clothes and where do you buy your favorite jeans?

I like to shop at Barneys, Bergdorf, Pucci, and random small shops that no one would recognize the names of. I like Earl and J Brand Jeans. J Brand Jeans seem to fit me perfectly.

What are some of your beauty must haves?

Eucerin moisturizer and any brand of legitimate UVA/UVB sunscreen to protect my skin.

Photographed by Diana Levine

What does a normal morning look like for you?

Every day, the first thing I do is have coffee at Gimme! Coffee and read the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal. I could spend two hours reading the papers, seriously. I want to read things the editors have carefully curated, not just stumble over random things on the Web. Then, I either work out or go to the office. Then, it’s off to the races.

Looking back at your career, what are you most proud of and what is your greatest achievement?

I’m really proud to finally have some recognition for building mediabistro.com into a great company. I wish the recognition had been easier to come by! But most people really didn’t give me any credit till I sold the company. Then, adulation poured in. It seems a bit cynical. I feel that I now have some of those wry New Yorkers’ grudging respect. Grudging being the keyword.

What goals do you have for the future and what are you excited about right now?

On the personal front, I’m working on getting into top shape. After all, I have been traveling for eight months, so I couldn’t really control my routine the way I wanted to. Externally, I want to change the world. I don’t know in what arena that will occur yet though. I want to do something that intellectually feeds me and that “feeds” the world as well. I’m excited to have time finally to focus on that more.

*Thank you, Laurel! You are amazing to work with and incredibly gracious!

**Mediabistro.com was sold to Jupitermedia.com, which became WebMediaBrands.com

***What is your proudest achievement? Who inspires you and why? How do you overcome obstacles? How do you stay healthy?

Plus-Size Models Unite is for ALL women of every size, shape, ethnicity, and age.

20 Responses to “Laurel Touby, mediabistro.com Creator, Talks About Overcoming Obstacles, Persevering, Success, Body Image, Health, Societal Misconceptions of Women, and Her Goals For the Future”

  1. male chest hair

    Laurel Touby, mediabistro.com Creator, Talks About Overcoming Obstacles, Persevering, Success, Body Image, Health, Societal Misconceptions of Women, and Her Goals For the Future | Plus-Size Models Unite

  2. We absolutely love your blog and find most of your post’s to be what precisely I’m looking for.
    Do you offer guest writers to write content for yourself?
    I wouldn’t mind creating a post or elaborating on a lot of the subjects you write with regards to here.
    Again, awesome web log!

  3. This means that they need to find the ones to meet their personal style.
    So, if you are looking for some tips on how to buy a womens winter coat, you have reached just the right place.
    Patterns are perceived as dull by most people, especially men. Whether you are looking for your first bra, or
    you one hundredth bra, it is important to understand it will
    take time, and no matter what, you will need to make adjustments.

  4. Linen is made from the stack of the flax plant and has
    long lasting fibres. Earlier it was thought that women with slim figures can look beautiful only.
    Green and black or blue and white make telling impressions.
    Their website has a sale section as well which means if you really want to save some money you should be able to find some
    really good deals in that section as well.

  5. If you are planning on landscaping a small area, you shouldn’t have any problems doing this smalll project yourself.
    Almost every Michigan home landscape plan includes shtubs
    but unfortunately when you look around a neww subdivision almost all the hoomes will include the same types
    oof shrubs. In the vide we also introduce trenching as a method off planting long spindly plants that seem
    too unwieldy to get into the ground.

  6. items in their own particular view are clearly the actual ones which they will.
    So try to follow the tips aforementioned to get rid of the farmer’s tan.
    IMPORTANT: Make sure you are purchasing UV protective clothing that is put together and manufactured with strict AAD guidelines, you don.

  7. With just few dollars, you can achieve a golden-bronze tan and also manage to look
    gorgeous and hot. – Oxybenzone – carcinogen and contributor to vascular disease, may affect
    the brain and nervous system in animals. Does it give out an aura of all-around cleanliness.

  8. Only use those that have a color guide, which will help you see where you
    applied the lotion. You can buy swimsuits in floral and island prints to add more fun to your look at the beach.
    Why bother to spend tens of thousands of dollars, after all, on something you may only need to use for a limited time.

  9. There are now select plastic surgeons that offer affordable payment plans on their
    plastic surgery procedures for their clients. If you
    are residing in Miami and want to enhance your appearance then you will need
    to visit an experienced cosmetic surgeon in Miami.
    Often fine dining and jewelry discounts are offered.

  10. He became interested in HCG as a diet aid, and started developing the
    drug as a dietary regimen for losing weight. Physically, because it wrecks havoc to your body systems that have to attune different metabolic, circulatory
    and gastrointestinal processes in between relatively short periods of time.
    For those instances, a buddy may provide
    support when necessary.

  11. There is no such thing at the moment but there are goods that promise to stop additional
    hair loss and maybe restore some of the lost hair, if the
    follicles haven’t completely withered away. It is often mixed with other oils to
    keep cost down but still provide benefits. Have Some Much more Derm –
    Organic Care For The Locks.

  12. They might be a good fashion declaration at home however, not
    in Spain. – Oxybenzone – carcinogen and contributor to vascular disease, may affect
    the brain and nervous system in animals. There is no reason to be self-conscious about your body in front of the woman, or
    man, who is tanning you.

  13. For the depressions of the skin (also termed scars) resulting from acne, there isn’t a good OTC medication. Hair
    fall is a condition of losing hair from the scalp leading to the generation of new hair.
    Simply put, the heat destroys the whole hair follicle permanently.

  14. To keep you in the most comfortable and peaceful state of mind possible, Dr.
    During your consultation visits, ask potential plastic surgeons about the financing plans
    they offer. At $10,000 it was exactly one tenth cheaper than the same surgery in the United States, which
    would have cost him $100,000.

  15. Testosterone is converted to dihydrotestosterone (DHT) which
    slows down or stops hair growth and produces weaker, shorter
    hair. Hair fall is a condition of losing hair from the scalp leading to the
    generation of new hair. Simply put, the heat destroys
    the whole hair follicle permanently.

  16. Much less pleasant but equally essential is understanding expertise these
    kinds of as cleansing dentures, feeding individuals, having temperatures and measuring catheter output, all of which totally get
    ready students for the expertise evaluation test. Electrolysis – Electrolysis is a
    solution which utilizes a needle to kill the
    hair at its root. However, pulling on a scab that was adherent to the skin usually dislodged the graft – often several days after pulling
    on a hair was safe.

  17. Excellent factors once and for all, you simply received a fresh reader. Just what exactly could a person propose about your publish that you simply created couple of days before? Any kind of positive?

  18. It’s not just women over thirty in Manhattan who feel invisible. It seems like every other day, I sit down next to a stunning model on the subway, and, as a twenty-four year old, I feel completely unable to compete. But I think being a wildly successful businesswoman would allay a lot of my insecurities 🙂

  19. Michelle Says:

    Great interview. Laurel seems to have found how to keep her life in balance and what an interesting life she has had!!!. Great tips for us readers.

  20. Laurel Touby, mediabistro.com Creator, Talks About Overcoming ……

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

Leave a Reply

