Angela’s Journey — Part II — A Journey To Healthy Living (Written by Liz Nord)

Photographed by Lindsey Bowen

Angela and I started Plus-Size Models Unite to create an open forum where women of ALL sizes, shapes, ethnicities, and ages can connect and share their personal stories; exchange ideas; create a supportive and positive atmosphere; and promote positive body image, confidence, and self-esteem.

We have several plus models, non-models, and public figures who will be sharing their personal stories, experiences, and advice. Our hope is that you will find comfort and inspiration in reading the stories and advice other women share, and that you will contribute your stories and thoughts to help inspire other women along their journey.

We support women to make the decision to find the inner strength to accept, respect, and embrace their uniquely beautiful self. We welcome and celebrate all women. We need to encourage each other! We started this blog by publishing Angela’s Story.

If you read Angela’s Journey Part I, at (http://plussizemodelsunite.com/2010/03/10/hello-world/), you will have a better understanding of who Angela is and her emotional and physical journey through bulimia to healthy living. This is Part II of Angela’s story (written by Angela and I together)

Photographed by Marc Von Borstel

Angela’s Journey Part II

My recovery from bulimia has been a journey. One day I made up my mind that I would stop abusing my body and I did just that – I stopped, but the thoughts, feelings, and urges that had accompanied the abuse did not stop right away.

Every time I ate, I was tempted. I had to talk myself out of “it”. When I was out to dinner or out of my normal routine or when I could not control what food was available to eat, I was haunted. I could not enjoy my meals. I was always thinking about what exercises I would have to do tomorrow or that night right after I ate. I would think about what I put into my body and how badly I wanted it out.

My thoughts raced. “I could just go into the bathroom and no one would know” or “Right when I get home I’m going to jump on the treadmill and run” or “Tomorrow I am not eating or I will only eat…” It was all about control for me. Every day, I would fight the battle. I fought the urge. Even if I felt sick from eating chocolate cake or whatever I was feeling guilty about eating that day, I would deal with the emotions and get through it.

I have matured a lot in the last ten years and my priorities have changed. Having a family and raising children has been a huge revelation for me. My body is amazing. It has allowed me to give birth to our two beautiful babies. I want to be around for my family, to see my grandkids, and to enjoy my life with my kids and my wonderful husband. My husband always says, “Life is a beautiful thing.” Yes it is!

I hope my story can help aid women on their personal road to recovery. The mind is a very powerful thing. Have faith in yourself; know you are important, and that you do matter. Don’t give up! You are definitely not alone and you are not weird. I know I felt alone during my time of suffering from bulimia.

Every day is a new day. Enjoy each day, feel your emotions, listen to your body, and take care of yourself. Take ten minutes out of every day to write in a journal, meditate, or relax. When I see the smiles on my children’s faces, hear “I love you mama”, or feel the kiss of my husband; I know that I would much rather enjoy those moments than obsess about fitting into a certain size. Those are the real things that matter.

I don’t struggle with bulimia anymore. I do have bad days when I feel frumpy, bloated, or I wish a shirt wasn’t so tight. The way I have dealt with my recovery is to be good to my body, to eat healthy, stay active, laugh, and enjoy my life. To be healthy I need to love, take care of, and know my own needs and myself. I also feel that is important to be able to find a “team” of women you can relate to. It is important to know that you are not alone. Connect with other positive women. That is like a breath of fresh air.

Think about what you love about yourself, what makes you special. Don’t dwell about what you don’t like, but what you DO like! Walk with confidence, smile, and surround yourself with people who are on your team.

*We want to give a special thanks to Sunny Gold at http://healthygirl.org/ for publishing Angela’s story on her web site. Sunny is the Health Editor for Glamour magazine and she will be guest posting on our blog soon. She is currently quite busy putting the final touches on her new book.

**We will be publishing Part III of Angela’s story in the coming weeks ahead.

***What do you love about yourself? What makes you special? What makes you feel better when you are having a down day? What are you passionate about?

13 Responses to “Angela’s Journey — Part II — A Journey To Healthy Living (Written by Liz Nord)”

  1. h – CG also resets metabolism rates and protects the healthy fat which cushions the organs
    and other tissues. Warrants have been issued for
    his arrest in Europe and he lives in hiding outside the E.

    Until now, the only 100% approved items for moisturizing on the HCG diet have been pure baby oil and mineral oil because unlike other oils,
    they have no nutritional value and are will not be absorbed by the
    skin.

  2. Homeopathic HCG drops for weight loss work by preserving your muscle
    tissue first. However, in just short span of time, the
    HCG drops have gained so much prominence and popularity that they are being sought after by numerous people all over
    the world. The use of beauty products is one of the everyday regimens of women.

  3. After a quick lunch and a brief nap back at
    the mobile home, we resumed fishing about three o’clock and fished all the way until dark.

    (AND “FLAVOUR, FEEDING TRIGGERS AND CHEMORECEPTION SECRETS”) SEE:.
    Players doing solo or non-healing players benefit most from this profession as they can replenish themselves
    with food.

  4. You can really help most of your clients by helping them use financial statements as a basis for making better business decisions.

    They will do all the talking for you with the agent.
    This method pts are crucial inside working with a defined talent management strategy.

  5. There are still business opportunities, even in the shaky housing market.

    In addition to this tactic, a good SEO business and its professionals give individualistic attention to each and every project.
    Most of the things you think you know about search-engine optimization, or SEO, may have
    been true a few years ago but have changed.

  6. Make sure the content is grammatically perfect, has a simple and easy
    to understand style, entices the reader, and remains grounded in facts instead of hyperbole.
    In addition to this tactic, a good SEO business and its professionals give individualistic attention to each and every project.
    Most of the things you think you know about search-engine optimization, or SEO,
    may have been true a few years ago but have changed.

  7. The amount of calories from fat should be no
    more than 30% of the total calories you eat per day.
    The firm bases any discount about the cost
    of paying for several plastic bottles of the 15-day give.
    Yes, HCG is one highly effective product that is capable of giving its consumers a good result from the very first day of its consumption.

  8. Usually I don’t learn post on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very compelled me to take a
    look at and do so! Your writing taste has been surprised
    me. Thanks, quite nice post.

  9. Thanks for sharing, Angela! What a powerful story!

  10. Angela I am so proud you!! You are beauiful and one of the most sincere and compassionate person I know. I think what you’ve accomplished and continue to do is amazing and I know you are and will be an inspiration to many women. You have always been an example to me and I am glad to have you as a friend.

  11. Angela, you are truly beautiful inside and out. 🙂

  12. i love you mom.

  13. Michelle Says:

    When Angela told me about the blog that she and Elizabeth were going to create, I had no idea the impact it would have on her well being. I know it was difficult for her to revisit the years of bulimia and the feelings that arose – feelings that she tried to forget about. But, I believe that talking about it and writing about it has “freed” her from her past insecurities.

    Angela, I am so proud of you. I hope that others struggling with bulimia find support in reading her story and reach out for help. You are not alone.

    Michelle (Angela’s mom)

Leave a Reply

