Guest Post by Jodi Hopkins — Let’s Talk About Shopping, Confidence, and Curves!

Jodi Hopkins’ grandma recently gave her a gift card to Nordstrom. At the suggestion of her sister and her grandma, she made an appointment with Personal Stylist, Laura Martin. What started out as a shopping day at the mall became so much more. This is Jodi’s story…

Jodi Hopkins Photographed by Lindsey Bowen

I am a mom who spends a lot of time driving, grocery shopping, and cleaning house – and most of the time, as long as I have had a chance to shower in the morning and put on clean clothes, I feel presentable. My outfit most days is yoga capris, a hooded sweatshirt, and Keens. However, I am also a small business owner, and I want to convey a professional image. I also want to look cute. 

When I go out on a date with my husband or meet a friend for lunch, I want to be proud of the way I look. When I called Laura to make my appointment, she spent about 10 minutes asking what a typical day is for me, what my standby pieces are, and what I would be hoping to find when I came in to see her. We talked about how young moms need clothes they feel comfortable in, and that she feels it’s important to purchase pieces that you can wear in three different ways. When I arrived for my appointment, she had a dressing room ready for me with quite a few pairings of tops with sweaters and a few different pairs of pants. She told me to get started trying the clothes on, and that it wouldn’t hurt her feelings if I didn’t like anything she picked. That totally took the pressure off. 

She had chosen a wide black belt for me to try over some of the tops. I put it on and immediately saw a difference in my look and shape. Laura walked in and said, “You have the most beautiful hourglass figure. Look at those curves! You have to show it off. Stop hiding behind your clothes.” 

I told her I was about to cry; I was totally beaming. I have never loved my curves. I have always looked at them and seen “too much.” It was awesome to hear such positive comments from someone who works with women all day and sees all shapes and sizes. How wonderful for me! I felt that I could really be proud of myself and accentuate my waist.

I feel very confident in my new clothes. My friends and family have noticed a difference in how I present myself and some people have commented that I look 10 years younger. It’s very fun!

I love how everything I chose can be worn casually or formally, and I can mix and match all of the pieces. I was surprised how some items were a size 14, some were L, some were 1X, and some were a size 18. They each fit differently. The clothes felt so good on my body! I was in the dressing room for 2 hours, and I had a blast trying on all of these different combinations and seeing how great I looked! I also enjoyed that these pieces were brought together from many different departments in Nordstrom – departments I have never shopped in before. It would have taken me all day to put these outfits together. I would highly recommend an appointment with a personal stylist for anyone who wants to revamp their wardrobe or just needs a few basic pieces that they can rely on!

We asked Jodi what she loves about herself and this is what she said:

I love my personality. I am able to carry on conversations with just about anybody and I can usually figure out a way to make them laugh. I am comfortable with who I am and it takes a lot to embarrass me! 

I went skiing with Jason, (who is now my husband), before we started dating. I had a pretty decent crush on him. =-) On our way back to the car, I thought I would be smart and take a short cut through the humongous snow drift in the parking lot; I sank past my waist in snow and basically had to roll out of it. I busted up laughing. Our next date, I fell on my butt walking down a hill in the ice. Another time, I fell while snowshoeing and couldn’t get back up without his help. I can be clumsy, but it gives me a reason to laugh at myself and I love it.

*Thank you, Jodi!

We would love to hear from our readers! Was there an experience that changed the way you viewed yourself? Have you had great or not-so-great shopping experiences?

One Response to “Guest Post by Jodi Hopkins — Let’s Talk About Shopping, Confidence, and Curves!”

  1. Shopping, Confidence, and Curves is what helps us live in this world, and to be a woman! Thank you for this post.

Leave a Reply

