Kate Tunnell Talks About Embracing Your Body and Feeling Confident.

Photographed by Anthony Chiang

Kate is a plus model who is originally from New Jersey–yes, the Jersey Shore. ūüôā

Four years ago, she moved to Dallas, Texas after she met her husband on tour. Kate is signed with Heffner Management, Dorothy Combs Models in Miami, and The Campbell Agency. Some of the clients Kate has had the opportunity to work with are Saks, Dillard’s, JC Penny, and Junonia.

Kate loves telling young girls and women that it’s okay to have curves, embrace your body, and don’t think you have to be thin to be beautiful!

How and when did you get started in the modeling business?

While I was growing up everyone told me to model. I think the first thing I did was win a JC Penney model search at our local mall when I was 12 or¬†13.¬†I started modeling at a young age and then started working for an agency in NYC. When I moved to Dallas, I got back into modeling, but as a plus-size model. I had gained some weight and just “grew up” when I moved to Dallas.

What advice would you give to aspiring plus-size models?

Do not give up. Take everyone’s advice and critique. The more critique you can handle the better model you will be. Learn and grow from it.

What advice would you give to girls and women, who are struggling with body image and self-esteem issues?

Learn to embrace what you have. I¬†was a super skinny tall blonde and now¬†I have curves. I can’t fit into those tiny bikinis¬†but I have learned to love my curves and love what I have. As long as YOU feel confident and beautiful, that is what people will notice.

Photographed by Marc Richard

Have you ever struggled with self-esteem or body image issues in the past? If so, how did you reach the point of accepting and loving your body?

Yes, when I moved to Texas and had gained weight; I felt gross. A lot of it had to do with not fitting into the clothes I use to wear. I bought new clothes and learned to embrace how I look now. I stay active, but I know I will never be that super thin girl I once was. I get more compliments now on how I look than I did when I was super skinny.

Where do you like to shop for clothes and who are some of your favorite designers?

I love the GAP and Old Navy. You can find cute new things for a great price. H&M is a great store that carries all sizes as well. My favorite thing to do is to find pieces that no one else has. My favorite designer is Marc Jacobs. Love the bags!

Do you have a favorite workout routine?

I love bike riding and walking/jogging. I just got into Pilates and that is now my favorite!

What is your most memorable modeling experience?

I was in a photo shoot at a lake in Maine; it was so beautiful and peaceful.

Do you have any funny modeling stories you would like to share?

One time I wasn’t big enough for a wedding dress and they had to make butt implants for me!

What are you excited about right now?

I am excited about what the future holds ūüėČ

Photographed by Rick Day

2 Responses to “Kate Tunnell Talks About Embracing Your Body and Feeling Confident.”

  1. yes,thanks for your share.
    beautiful girl. ūüôā

  2. Juantoria Williams Says:

    Thank you for all the advice and information you have shared.

Leave a Reply

