What Are We Doing Here?

Hi everyone,

I would like to take this opportunity to clarify what Plus-Size Models Unite is hoping to accomplish.

First, I must tell you a little bit about Angela and myself. I am 5’4” (and three-quarters on a good day), slim, and not model material – at all! I have never struggled with eating disorders, but I have struggled with issues such as body image, self-esteem, and confidence. At times, I have felt that I am too short, have too small breasts, imperfect complexion, or am just not perfect enough (I’m not just talking about physical appearances). 

Angela is a plus model who has also dealt with body image issues. If you read our first blog post, from a few weeks ago, you will have a better understanding of who she is and her emotional journey through bulimia to healthy living.

We feel Angela has a story to tell that may help other women, which led us to the decision to create Plus-Size Models Unite. I would be the writer telling Angela’s story. Then our idea grew. We have several plus models, non-models, and public figures who will be sharing their personal stories, experiences, and advice. We want to promote positive body image, self-acceptance, self-love, and confidence.  

We believe all girls and women tend to struggle (at some point) to accept and appreciate their bodies, minds, or souls and may struggle with self-esteem issues. Our hope is that by creating this blog we will help encourage self-empowerment, self-confidence, and self-respect. We want Plus-Size Models Unite to be a platform to embrace women of all shapes, sizes, and ages. That means all different types of faces as well. =-)  

We feel the plus modeling industry is making strides to change society’s idea of beauty and we want to push for that. We want to promote the idea that every woman in the world is uniquely beautiful (both inside and out) and that our value does not depend on what other people think of us. We don’t believe in the media’s “beauty standards,” but we are not against straight skinny models or “average body types” (whatever that means), or anyone else for that matter. Our blog is for everyone!  

We should all be proud of who we are. We are creating an on-line community where anyone can share their personal stories, exchange ideas; discuss the plus-size modeling world and a plethora of other topics.  

We want to support women to make the decision to find the inner strength to accept, respect, and embrace their uniquely beautiful self. We need to encourage each other. We are all too hard on each other and ourselves. We need to teach our children to be kind to one other and lift one another up. 

Our blog just started three weeks ago and we have much more to say. We invite you all to visit us, give us your feedback, make comments, and share topic ideas that you would like to see us write about!  

Thank you to the hundreds of women who have sent us e-mails sharing your stories and expressing your support for Plus-Size Models Unite. We look forward to hearing more from you.  

Thanks,  

Elizabeth

7 Responses to “What Are We Doing Here?”

  1. steviemonkey Says:

    Really glad I’ve found your blog. Will be sure to keep an eye on what your contributers have to say. I’d love to have the confidence in my body to be a model, but alas, coming to accept it as it is has been a long time coming…

  2. bellissime!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. FYI: A plus-size model is the de facto heroine of the new novel FAT CHICK which is about a yo-yo dieter who tires of being the skinny waif as much as she did being the fat chick, so she goes in search of balance — both physically and emotionally.
    http://bit.ly/7gC8M5

  4. What an amazing site. I’m a plus model and definitely not even a standard plus model and I welcome sites like this. I try and promote the positives in my site too.
    The more sites like this that are around coupled with a growing media interest can only strengthen the belief we are all unique and beautiful.

    Vanessa Reece

  5. What an incredible project, Elizabeth! I’m so thrilled that you and Angela are beginning this endeavor and I can’t wait to read what you post here.

    My blog, Eat the Damn Cake, has similar goals, and is also a joint project between two women with a lot to say about being beautiful and feeling good.

    I look forward to learning from you and sharing stories!

    And about feeling too short, I’m your height, and also thin, but I’m Jewish, and I work in a synagogue, so I’m always surrounded by people much shorter than me. I feel enormous sometimes! You should come hang out with us 🙂

  6. Terri Neifert Says:

    I am a former bulimic, anorexic, international model whom is plus size and wanting to model again. I have a lot of stories to tell about my modeling travels. Would like to know the best agency to go with. I still look young, but some agencies discriminate by age for plus size models.

  7. Great post Elizabeth. I am a plus-size woman and a wedding photographer. I struggle with those issues and I know that my brides do as well. My goal is to redefine the face of beauty through my photography. I want to see plus-sized brides celebrated as the gorgeous women they are alongside their “normal” and “slender” counterparts. I love reading what you have to say, because size is not an indicator of beauty!

Leave a Reply

