Solveig Walkling – International Model Talks Swim Suits

Picture courtesy of Kuva Photography, Josh Whitby

Solveig Walkling

Sol grew up in the back of an old Citroen travelling Europe and could say “hello” and “goodbye” in at least ten languages before she was even able to write her own name.

Luckily, she escaped being bargained for an undisclosed number of camels while travelling Turkey with her mother as a teenager or becoming a rugby player in the wonderfully quaint North of England; the freakishly tall blonde proceeded to study languages, nation studies, and journalism instead.

Work at a travel magazine was perhaps only a natural progression from there, but a combination of writing for the Australian Traveller magazine and overnight police rounds for The Sunday Telegraph instilled her with an unhealthy adrenalin addiction.

She has since left the safe surrounds of her desk behind to face off great whites, plunge down cliff-faces, hang onto the side of boats in gale force winds, and fly loops in ancient fighter planes.

Used to red-eye flights and working in several countries in a day without letting it affect an – albeit rather forced – perma-smile, the freelance model and journalist can now also be found on the other side of the camera.

Toting a battered Canon 40D, notepad, and pencil, she will travel to any location anytime at the drop of a pen.

If the Bikini Fits…

Written by Solveig Walkling

Are there any women out there who actually like shopping for swimwear? After two months of hunting for the right bikini in surf shops, department stores and seaside boutiques, I had serious doubts anyone older than 16  would be able to confidently answer “yes, me (and I love having builder’s bum).”

Not only does swimwear shopping subject you to teenage shop assistants looking you up and down as if to say “there’s no way you’ll fit that size,” badly lit changing rooms with cracks on both sides of the door or a curtain that moves as you get changed, but also the humiliating moment when you’re boyfriend peers over the door to see you struggling red-faced to pull some pants up past your hips.

As a swimwear and fit model, I felt particularly insulted by the rows and rows of perfect-looking bikinis that looked horrid once they (barely) covered my body’s curves. The change room’s mirror became my sworn enemy. By the end of it, I had stopped trying on any tops; instead, I’d just do what I’d like to call the “pant-crack test.” It was after I’d taken another dozen swimsuits to try, leaving the change room with a sour look on my face and a mountain of skimpy bikinis behind, that my boyfriend made a helpful suggestion. Why didn’t I head to The Big Swim? Expecting nannaish patterns and skin-covering designs, I stepped into The Big Swim. But what I found were utterly wearable designs and great sizing.

Ironically, after months of hunting around, I ended up buying a bikini I had previously seen on one of my TV shoots for Channel 7. On the shoot, a simple red cossie and a blue Miracle suit were my favourites, hence why I didn’t take notice of the blue and white striped bikini my fellow model had tried on for Jets. Watch the video below for some great tips on how to find a bikini that actually fits.

For more information about Sol, please look at her link listed under our blogroll.

The following links feature fantastic plus swimsuits, tankinis, and bikinis.

The following plus swimsuits are from (USA):

http://www.alwaysforme.com/swimplussiz.html

The following plus swimsuits are from (Australia):

http://www.sarafashion.com.au/SHOP_BY_DEPARTMENT/Swim.html

Every woman is beautiful!

Do you know of a great shop to purchase swimsuits, tankinis, or bikinis?

We would like to hear about beaches from all over the world! Tell us about your favorite beach.

Please send us your comments and questions. We love hearing from you!

19 Responses to “Solveig Walkling – International Model Talks Swim Suits”

  1. Were several volunteers plus starting the latest design in our community. Your website offered us all using beneficial info to work upon big dick. You will have completed a new formidable work and all of our total group can be thankful for your requirements.

  2. green coffee extract

    Solveig Walkling – International Model Talks Swim Suits | Plus-Size Models Unite

  3. My coder is trying to convince me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses. But
    he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using WordPress on numerous websites for about
    a year and am worried about switching to another platform. I have heard excellent things
    about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can transfer all my wordpress posts into it?
    Any help would be really appreciated!

  4. Fine way of telling, and pleasant article to get data on
    the topic of my presentation focus, which i am going to deliver in institution of higher education.

  5. Howdy! It seems as though we both have a interest for the same thing.
    Your blog, “Solveig Walkling” and mine are very similar.
    Have you ever thought about writing a guest article for a similar blog?
    It will unquestionably help gain publicity to your blog (my website
    recieves a lot of traffic). If you might be interested, contact me at: ignaciotoler@gmail.

    com. Thanks for your time

  6. wholesale diapers…

    […]Solveig Walkling – International Model Talks Swim Suits « Plus-Size Models Unite[…]…

  7. I adore the suit I got last year from the queen of the swimming pool, Esther Williams. Her website is very old-fashioned, so it took a bit of clicking around to order, but it arrived and was lovelier than I pictured. I’ve just seen the suits at Pin-up Girl and that look wonderful. And while most of their clothes are too frumpy for me everyday, I have two suits from Lands End, which go on a bit like scuba gear, really hold everything together, but not too tight (I’m not a fan of much support wear). I tried some of the shapes, which didn’t work for me, so I’d suggest ordering a few styles and sizes, as you can return the ones which don’t work out to a Sears shop at a mall, I believe.

    I run a site devoted to shopping in the larger straight sizes and smaller plus-sizes, called Style on the Edge (http://styleontheedge.com/)

  8. Kendrick Draft Says:

    Awesome post, I like this Webpage!

  9. I designed my swimsuits with all different body types in mind. We need to stop using the term plus size and say normal size… Beauty is from within!!!

  10. PinUpGirlClothing.com has a full range of plus size swimsuits and dresses through their house brands Pinup Couture and Dixiefried Clothing, as well as a dedicated plus size section featuring the clothes in full figured models.

  11. Hi!
    I like reading information and articles for plus size women.
    I live in Argentina, and plus sizes are difficult to find here. The tendency is that sizes are smaller each season! It´s easy to try and compare trousers, for example, same size, from one year to the next, you´ll find out that they are smaller.
    Talking about swimsuits, Gottex is a great line, a little expensive sometimes, but they really have great suits, beautiful colors, and fit almost on every body type.
    And about great places, or beaches, I love Mexico´s beaches. Mostly the caribbean because of the warm water.
    Thanks for sharing these articles.
    Best Wishes, Mónica.

  12. hello i really love this wbesite i’m a plus siez model and i wanted to know some agencies that i coul send my portofolio ! is plus size model unite a plis size models agencies ? tank you ! best regards !

    • Hi Boudour,
      Plus Size Models Unite is not a modeling agency. We are an open forum for women to discuss the plus modeling world and also to help promote healthy body image and self love.
      Thank you and good luck!

  13. Thank you for showing the swimsuit options above. Being plus size, on the larger end, I have a hard time finding suits. This summer I am going to Mexico and want to look nice, and not like a whale that shoved herself into a too small suit.

  14. All the photos are beautiful and it makes me so mad that these women are called PLUS size. When I look around while shopping the smallest women are probably a size 12 and the models that are size 0 are nowhere to be found. I don’t understand why the industry gets away with making clothes in size 0 and smaller. Doctors have said that it is unhealthy to be too small just as much as being too big. Wake up women. Live healthy lives! Eat and exercise in moderation. Limit or don’t take any alcohol in and stop starving yourself.

  15. Wonderful site, I really found it to be intriguing. I’m looking forward to visiting once more to see what is current.

  16. Hi there Solveig,

    Greetings from Sicily by a fellow naive Artist named Aurè who is celebrating the Curvy Plus size Women in Art & Fashion.
    Nobody else in Italy/Europe paint curvy Plussize women, but Aurè loves painting Plus Size CurvWomen and to celebrate their Shining Beauty!

    Summer 2010 – Plus Sized, Curvy Women Let’s go Tan in Sicily!
    the Island of the Sun – Sea – Beaches and Plus-Size, Art & Fashion!

    Ciao da Aurè
    -W the Plus Size Women !

  17. My favorite beach is the adult-only side of Castaway Cay on Disney’s private island in the Bahamas. They have waiters who walk out in the water to bring you umbrella drinks. SOOO fun!

Leave a Reply

